Season of the wreath: October

When I saw the Season to Season Wreath Project Kit from the 2015 Stampin’ Up! Holiday mini catalogue, I liked the idea of have a seasonal wreath that could be decorate for various times of the year. I thought what a good idea, but I want something that I could use all year round.  The wreath kit is a little to ‘fluffy’ to use all year round, so I thought I could come up with something more suitable.

I started with a polystyrene wreath.  I wanted to cover the wreath with ribbon in a light neutral colour, but there is nothing in the current catalogues that suited my purpose. I then looked in my stash of retired ribbons and found a roll of the natural trim ribbon. It was the perfect colour for what I wanted but one roll wasn’t going to be enough.  Fortunately, this ribbon was on the clearance rack.  Five and a bit rolls of ribbon later, my wreath was covered.  Now I had the base of my seasonal project.

wreathbase

Next I searched for inspiration on Pinterest.  As October is the month of Halloween, I decided my first season of the wreath would be a Halloween wreath.  I took my inspiration from this wreath and this wreath.

The house and the bats are made with Basic Black cardstock.  I used a brayer to create my Halloween moon, with Calypso Coral, Rich Razzleberry and Blackberry Bliss.

This was a lot of fun to make. Follow my blog to future seasons of the wreath.

halloweenwreath

 

Happy stamping

Cathy

 

Leave a Reply

