Season of the wreath: February

I’m early this month posting my season of the wreath post for February. February is the last month of summer. The last month to have Australia grown summer fruits, like watermelon.  Well maybe it’s not the last month for summer fruits but I certainly eat more fruit during summer than I do during the rest of the year.

This month’s wreath theme had to be watermelon. Especially when there is such pretty Watermelon Wonder ribbon in the Occasions mini catalogue.

My inspiration for this month’s them is this pin on Pinterest.

wreathfebruary

This month’s wreath decoration is the most dimenstional that I have done so far.

So you may be thinking where did you get the watermelon wedges.  I made them.  I played around with some retired card stock to make templates, then when I had the shape I wanted,  I needed thicker card stock to actually make the wedges.  Stampin’ Up! card stock isn’t sturdy enough to make a shape that needs to be hardy enough to stand being put in storage and not get crushed. I used card from a cereal box and masking tape.  Once I made the wedges, I covered them with Stampin’ Up! card stock.

I made the flowers from crepe paper, cutting the petals using the Bouquet die.  The centres for the flowers are cut with the Botanical builder framelits and some green glitter glued on to some white perfect accents.

I also finished off two rolls of retired ribbon to help decorate the wreath.  I’m very satisfied with that.  I have a lot of retired ribbon.

Paper: Desert Sand, Watermelon Wonder, Whisper White, Cucumber Crush, Hello Honey, Lucky Limeade (retired)

Ink: Watermelon Wonder, Cucumber Crush (used to sponge the edge of the white part of the rind)

Markers: Basic Black, Cucumber Crush

Accessories: Big shot, bouquet die, botanical builder framelits, white perfect accents, ribbons.

 

Happy stamping

Cathy

Leave a Reply

