Colour INKspiration #14 blog hop

colour-inkspiration-banner

I’m participating in another Colour INKspiration Facebook group challenge. This time I’m participating at a guest designer in the Design Crew blog hop

So what are the colours for the challenge? They are: Smoky Slate, Rich Razzleberry, Soft Sky and Night of Navy.

It is not often that I manage to use all the challenge colours in both card stock and ink, but I managed to do for this challenge. Keep reading if you would like to know how I made this card.

I started with Soft Sky card stock and stamped the two smaller balloons from the Life Me Up stamp set in Night of Navy and Rich Razzleberry.  Before I stamps the smallest balloon, I masked the balloon I stamped in Night of Navy with a mask.  To create this mask, I stamped the same image on a post it note, then fussy-cut the image out and placed it over the image that I stamped on the Soft Sky card stock.

I’m still in my brayer phase at the moment.  But rather than brayering a background like I have done for the last two colour challenges, I instead brayered some Whisper White card stock with Rich Razzleberry and Night of Navy ink.  Once I was happy with the colour intensity of the two inks, I cut out the balloon using the Up & Away thinlits.

You might be wondering why I use a brayer rather than the sponge rollers that are available in the catalog. The sponge rollers are good for application of subtle colour and you can also do an ombre effect but for intense colour saturation I find the brayer is the best tool to create an ombre effect.

Rich Razzleberry, Smoky Slate and Night of Navy card stock were used to add colour to the largest balloon.  The clouds are Smoky Slate ink on Whisper White card stock.  The last element on this card is the sentiment. It is not very clear in the photo but I have actually stamped the sentiment twice, once in Rich Razzlberry and once in Soft Sky. It gives a drop shadow effect. Like the sentiment is floating above the card.  The front panel is matted with Night of Navy and attached to a Smoky Slate card base.

Used in this project:

Paper: Smoky Slate, Rich Razzleberry, Soft Sky, Night of Navy, Whisper White

Ink: Smoky Slate, Rich Razzleberry, Soft Sky, Night of Navy

Stamps: Lift Me Up

 

Thanks for visiting my blog. Now it is time to hop over to Denita’s blog to check out her project.

 

Happy stamping

Cathy

 

9 responses to “Colour INKspiration #14 blog hop

  1. Very cool technique with the brayer! I must use this more. Thanks for joining us this week 🙂

  2. Gorgeous card Cathy – the hot air balloon theme works really well with these colours! Thanks for designing with the crew this week! Kelly x

  3. Awesome choice of products for these colours Cathy. Your hot air balloons work beautifully. xx

Leave a Reply

