Colour INKspiration #162

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is ciblogbanner.jpg

Welcome to Colour INKspriation #162 Colour INKspiration is a challenge group on Facebook that sets a colour challenge every 2nd and 4th Wednesday of the month using Stampin’ Up! colours. Inspiration pictures are from Pinterest.  As a design team member, we make cards and projects to inspire people in the challenge.

The colours for this challenge are: Very Vanilla, Azure Afternoon, Boho Blue, and Early Espresso. There is a standard set of colours you can add to your challenge projects if they are not already part of the challenge colour palette. You may add Basic White, Very Vanilla, Basic Black, Crumb Cake, and metallics to your project. We also allow ‘Ivory’ and ‘Bronze’ in the Stampin’ Blends. If you don’t have all the colour palette, feel free to use the closest SU (Stampin’ Up!) substitute.

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Colour INKspiration challenge. The last challenge I did was back in October 2023. Creatively, I had to take a break from paper crafting but now I am stepping back in to paper crafting slowly. Even still this post is almost two weeks late.

For my first colour challenge this year I decided to make a calendar for my cubicle wall in my workplace. You must be thinking isn’t it a bit late to make a calendar? Yes I am aware that it is actually April when I am posting this, but I still made a calendar as the last few months I have missed having a calendar conveniently located on my cubicle wall an. So here I present my 2024 Calendar.

The base and the inner panel are Thick Very Vanilla card stock, both have had the edges sponged with Early Express ink. I’ve used blending brushes to colour the inner panel with Boho Blue ink and I’ve blended Azure Afternoon ink though a decorative mask. The inner panel has been framed with the More Dazzling specialty paper and another piece of the specialty paper has been randomly cut to decorate the inner panel.

I stamped the flower image multiple time with Early Expresso ink on Very Vanilla card stock and fussy cut various parts of the images so that I could stack the images to create a dimensional effect. Before stacking the images, I coloured them with colour pencils. I used the Early Expresso water colour pencil from assortment 1 as a colour pencil. No water was used to blend the colour. As there is no water colour pencil for Azure Afternoon and Boho Blue I used pencils from my extensive colouring pencil collection that most closely matched these colours.

The panel where the calendar sits is cutout using the Thoughtful Expression dies from Very Vanilla card stock. I’ve used heat & stick powder and gilded leaf to decorate the die cut. I them added a tone of bling to embellish the calendar.

Used in this project:

Paper: Thick Very Vanilla (retired), Very Vanilla, More Dazzle specialty paper (retiring)

Ink:  Azure Afternoon, Boho Blue, Early Espresso

Watercolour Pencils: assortment 1, random colour pencils.

Stamps:  Blessings of Home

Embossing and die cutting tools: cut and emboss machineThoughtful Expressions dies (retiring)

Embellishments: gilded leaf (retiring), brushed brass butterflies, champaign rhinestones (retired)

Tools: blending brushes, sponge daubers (returning), decorative mask (retired), heat tool

Adhesive:  multipurpose liquid gluedimensionals, mini dimensionals, heat & stick powder (retiring)

All items listed above (except retired or random) are available through my online store. If you live in Australia, just click on the shopping cart in the left hand column of this page or click on the links where I have listed what I have used for this project.

INKspired to join the challenge? It’s so easy. Firstly, get some INKspiration by checking out all of the creations of the Colour INKspiration Crew in the challenge album on our Facebook page. Then you have 12 days from today to make and upload your creation to the Facebook Colour INKspiration Group. You don’t have to have a blog to participate but if you do you can link back to your post. Make sure you use all of the challenge colours. You can also use neutrals such as Whisper White, Very Vanilla, Crumb Cake and Basic Black as well as Metallics.

Not a member of the Colour INKspiration Facebook group yet? Just click here and ask to join Colour INKspiration, add the group to your favourites and share it with your crafty friends so they can join in the fun too. We can’t wait to see what you create with these gorgeous colours.



Happy stamping

Cathy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.